LEEDership Awards Delivers Rave Reviews!

More than 125 green building practitioners, professionals and Chapter members attended the Chapter’s annual awards program, which recognized and honored the outstanding green building projects, forward-thinking businesses, innovative design teams, and instrumental Chapter members who have displayed green building and sustainable development leadership on Florida's Gulf Coast through their practices of the U.S. Green Building Council’s LEED certification -- the leading international third-party green-building rating system.

Mickey Jacob, 2013 President of the American Institute of Architects, Executive Vice President of BDG Architects, and a notable contributor to sustainability discourse globally, emceed the event. In an inspiring keynote address, Jacob challenged attendees to think about how we can each be leaders and make the hard decisions required to abandon the status quo and ensure that the Florida Gulf Coast becomes an even more competitive and sustainable region.

Alexis Muellner, editor of the Tampa Bay Business Journal, kept the program lively and well-paced as the guest emcee for the awards evening, offering commentary and insight into the business and environmental benefits of sustainability.

The President of the Chapter, Taylor Ralph, with REAL Building Consultants, said, "Our LEEDership Award recipients continue to be crucial to driving our Chapter’s mission. With every award bestowed, every building certified, every advocate accredited, every volunteer recognized, and every community program hosted, we move closer to truly adopting sustainability in our region. We are extremely proud of these accomplishments associated with our vision and this important transformative movement, and excited about the opportunities we will continue to undertake together. A hardy congratulation is extended to all award winners."

In addition to the awards ceremony, the evening also included the Chapter’s Annual Meeting, a networking hour, a seated dinner, and Jacob's keynote address. The Chapter also celebrated its successful programming for 2015, in which members produced Green Apple Day of Service projects, monthly educational opportunities, and other informative programs, tours and events, often in conjunction with fellow leading sustainability-focused leaders.

LEEDership Awards Recipients

Most Outstanding LEED for Homes

  • Element House

Most Outstanding LEED for Multifamily

  • East Point Place
Most Outstanding LEED for Commercial Interiors
  • PricewaterhouseCoopers
Most Outstanding Green Historic Preservation Project
  • Historic Oldsmar Bank
Most Outstanding LEED for New Construction - Private
  • Naples Botanical Gardens

Most Outstanding LEED for New Construction -
Public / Small

  • Sarasota County Gulf Gate Library
Most Outstanding LEED for New Construction -
Public / Large
  • Pasco County Technology Center
Most Outstanding LEED for New Construction -
  • Tibbals II - Learning Center
Most Outstanding Green Business of the Year
  • University of Tampa
Most Outstanding Green Design Firm of the Year
  • FleischmanGarcia Architects
Most Outstanding Municipality of the Year
  • City of Dunedin
Most Outstanding Green Elected Official of the Year
  • Grant Rimbley, Vice Mayor & Councilman,
    City of Temple Terrace
Most Outstanding Community Leader of the Year
  • Ross Russo, Jon F. Swift Construction
Most Outstanding Branch Members of the Year
  • John Eveland, Tampa
  • Albert Wooster, Myakka River
  • Chris Ressler, Southwest Florida
Most Outstanding Chapter Member of the Year
  • Lacy Willard
President's Award Recipient
  • Bob Ingham 

Thanks To Our Sponsors! 

Charitable support from the business community makes
a tremendously impactful difference to our nonprofit organization. Click on the logos below to learn more about those outstanding companies that supported our annual 2015 LEEDership Awards program. 

Platinum Sponsor





LEEDership Awards Hall of Fame

Outstanding LEED for Homes
2013 -- Affordable: Hope Landing
2013 -- The Pearl
2014 -- Tip Top Haus
2015 -- Element House

Outstanding LEED for New Construction - Public / Large
2015 -- Pasco County Technology Center

Outstanding LEED for New Construction - Private
2015 -- Naples Botanical Gardens

Outstanding LEED for New Construction - Public / Small
2015 -- Sarasota County Gulf Gate Library

Outstanding LEED for Multifamily
2015 -- East Point Place

Outstanding Historic Preservation Project
2015 -- Historic Oldsmar Bank

Outstanding LEED for Commercial Interiors

2013 -- CBRE, Inc.
2014 -- KPMG-Tampa
2015 -- PricewaterhouseCoopers

Outstanding Green Municipality 

2013 -- Lee County
2014 -- City of Oldsmar
2015 -- City of Dunedin

Outstanding Green Business 

2013 -- Everglades University Sarasota Campus
2014 -- Josh Wynne Construction
2015 -- University of Tampa

Outstanding Green Elected Official

  • 2015 -- Grant Rimbley, Vice Mayor & Councilman
  •   City of Temple Terrace

Outstanding LEED for Core & Shell

2013 -- Metwest Two
2014 -- Axelrod Medical Pavilion at Morton Plant Hospital

Outstanding Innovative Design Team 
2013 -- The Beck Group
2015 -- FleischmanGarcia Architects

Outstanding LEED for Existing Buildings

2013 -- Lakepoint Two
2014 -- Renaissance Center

Outstanding Green Community Leader 

2014 -- Edible Peace Patch
2015 -- Ross Russo, Jon F. Swift Construction

Outstanding LEED for New Construction

2013 -- Sun N Fun Wellness Center
2014 -- Design Styles Architecture Headquarters

Outstanding Branch Members

2013 -- Sandra Ballestra, Tampa
2013 -- Tony Stefan, Myakka River
2013 -- Tony Richardson, Southwest Florida
2014 -- Sarah Mason, Tampa
2014 -- Tony Stefan, Myakka River
2014 -- Tessa Lesage, Southwest Florida
2015 -- John Eveland, Tampa
2015 -- Albert Wooster, Myakka River
2015 -- Chris Ressler, Southwest Florida

Outstanding LEED for NC - Government

2013 -- I-75 Rest Areas

Outstanding Chapter Member 

2013 -- Travis Barnes
2014 -- Leigh Kendall
2015 -- Lacy Willard

Outstanding LEED for NC - Higher Education
2013 -- USF Health Center for Advanced Medical Learning and Simulation (CAMLS)
2014 -- University of Tampa West Kennedy Hall
2015 -- Tibbals II - Learning Center

President's Award

2013 -- Colleen Mackin
2014 -- Lee Cooke
2015 -- Bob Ingham 

USGBC Florida Gulf Coast Chapter, c/o Florida Atlantic University, College of Engineering and Computer Science,
777 Glades Road, Room EE 329, Boca Raton, FL 33431-0991, info@usgbc-fgc.org / 561-373-7367
Powered by Wild Apricot. Try our all-in-one platform for easy membership management